TU Delft
Year
NEDERLANDSENGLISH
Organization
Education Type
Education print this page print this page     
2008/2009 Technology, Policy and Management Master Complex Systems Engineering and Management
SPM5920
CoSEM Design Project
ECTS: 7
Module Manager
Name E-mail
Dr. J. Barjis    J.Barjis@tudelft.nl
Instructor
Name E-mail
Dr. J.F. Auger    J.F.Auger@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr.ir. J. van den Berg    J.vandenBerg@tudelft.nl
Dr. A.F. Correlje    A.F.Correlje@tudelft.nl
Dr. J.H.R. van Duin    J.H.R.vanDuin@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. J.P.M. Groenewegen    J.P.M.Groenewegen@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. M.L.P. Groenleer    M.L.P.Groenleer@tudelft.nl
Dr. J.C. van Ham    J.C.vanHam@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr.ir. P.M. Herder    P.M.Herder@tudelft.nl
Dr. J.F.M. Koppenjan    J.F.M.Koppenjan@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. R.W. Kunneke    R.W.Kunneke@tudelft.nl
Drs. M. Leijten    M.Leijten@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. W. Lemstra    W.Lemstra@tudelft.nl
Ir. M.W. Ludema    M.W.Ludema@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. M.P.M. Ruijgh-van der Ploeg    M.P.M.Ruijgh-vanderPloeg@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. B.M. Steenhuisen    B.M.Steenhuisen@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. R.M. Stikkelman    R.M.Stikkelman@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr.ir. J.A.A.M. Stoop    J.A.A.M.Stoop@tudelft.nl
Dr. W.W. Veeneman    W.W.Veeneman@tudelft.nl
Dr. H.G. van der Voort    H.G.vanderVoort@tudelft.nl
Dr. B. Waterhout    B.Waterhout@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. W.A.M. Zonneveld    W.A.M.Zonneveld@tudelft.nl
Contact Hours / Week x/x/x/x
X/X/0/0 or 0/0/X/X
Education Period
1
2
3
4
Start Education
1
3
Exam Period
none
Course Language
English
Expected prior knowledge
Spm4111, spm4121, spm4131, spm4141, spm4341/4361/4352/4354/4370
Summary
This course involves a design assignment in which students will apply the theory on multi-actor system engineering methods, tools and principles taught in the prior courses in a realistic case related to their domain. Students will design a complex multi-actor system related to their domain applying the specific SEPAM perspective on designing. This implies that they need to consider in a balanced way technical, system and actor related aspects of the multi-actor system engineering. This include addressing technology aspects, system engineering, decision-making support and process and institutional aspect ofs the design and implementation process.
Course Contents
In this project, theory, methods and tools from the courses spm4111, spm4121, spm4131, and spm4141 are applied to a realistic case. Furthermore, domain-specific design theory, methods or tools learned in spm4341/4361/4352/4354/4370 will be used. In small design teams the students will make a technical and organizational feasible systems design or set of design alternatives with relevant decisive considerations for the problem owner(s). In the design and the design process both substantive (technology and systems) and actor (process management and institutional) issues will have to be addressed. The deliverables of the project are a system design or a set of design alternatives expressed in models, the associated documentation and a report on the design process followed.
Study Goals
On completion of this course students will be able:

- to choose suitable system design methods and tools, taking into account the substantive and process characteristics of the system and the multi-actor environment in a specific and realistic case in their domain;
- to apply the chosen design methods and tools for this case;
- to design a system taking into account technical domain, system engineering, decision-making, change process management and institutional aspects that are relevant for a certain case.
Education Method
There will be one subject for each domain (ICT/TIL/EI/W/LUD). The design teams will consist of 4 to 5 students from the same domain. Students following an international exchange program are encourage to work together in one group. Tentative time schedule:

- The project starts at the beginning of the semester with a kick-off meeting for each subject (to be announced on Blackboard).
- At the end of the first half of the semester the first part of the assignment (problem analysis, list of requirements, choice of design methods and project plan) is handed in and presented.
- In the second half of the semester the actual system design has to be made.
- At the end of the semester, the groups will present their designs to each other and to an expert jury.
- After that At the end of the semester the design(s), documentation and report are handed in.

Each group receives a limited ‘coaching budget’ that can be use to consult experts listed on the case description.
Literature and Study Materials
- A case description will be handed out at the kick-off meeting.
- Additional material will be distributed via Blackboard.
Prerequisites
spm4141 MAS Design: An integrated view
Assessment
The final mark is based on the written report, the designs and the presentations. A jury per subject including a representative of the domain section (ICT/TIL/EI/W/LUD), POLG, EvI and SE, will assess and grade the project results. A condition for passing the project is that each supervisor finds the work sufficient (>=5,5) from his or her point of view.