TU Delft
Year
NEDERLANDSENGLISH
Organization
Education Type
Education print this page print this page     
2010/2011 Mechanical, Maritime and Materials Engineering Minors Biomedical Engineering
BM3155
Medical Imaging
ECTS: 3
Responsible Instructor
Name E-mail
Dr.ir. D.H. Plettenburg    D.H.Plettenburg@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. I.T. Young    I.T.Young@tudelft.nl
Responsible for assignments
Name E-mail
Prof.dr. F.J. Beekman    F.J.Beekman@tudelft.nl
Dr. K.W.A. van Dongen    K.W.A.vanDongen@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. W.J. Niessen    W.J.Niessen@tudelft.nl
Dr. B. Rieger    B.Rieger@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. D.R. Schaart    D.R.Schaart@tudelft.nl
S. Stallinga    S.Stallinga@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. M.D. Verweij    M.D.Verweij@tudelft.nl
Dr. F.M. Vos    F.M.Vos@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr. H.T. Wolterbeek    H.T.Wolterbeek@tudelft.nl
Contact Hours / Week x/x/x/x
3/0/0/0
Education Period
1
Start Education
1
Exam Period
1
2
Course Language
Dutch
Required for
Depending upon the student's project choice in the last two weeks of the minor "Medical Technology", this course (Medical Imaging) may be necessary for the "Translational Medical Project".
Expected prior knowledge
The first week course "Mathematics" in the minor "Medical Technology" is required for this course, "Medical Imaging".
Course Contents
This course will be taught in Dutch as a two-week "block module".

In the first week the topics will be light microscopy (absorption, fluorescence, phase, etc.), digital pathology, and 2D & 3D X-ray imaging. (The last is the well-known CAT Röntgen imaging.)

In the second week the topics will be ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), SPECT, and PET.

The use of these imaging modalities for therapy as well as diagnostics will be discussed.

Each day the contents will consist of lectures, demonstrations, and laboratory work (where possible).
Study Goals
Understanding the technological basis for imaging modalities that are used in clinical medicine and biomedical research
Education Method
In general, lectures and laboratory work and/or laboratory visits
Prerequisites
The contents of the first week course "Mathematics" in the minor "Medical Technology" is required for this course, "Medical Imaging".
Assessment
Written exam at the end of each week in the two-week teaching period
Special Information
In the academic year 2010-2011, only 20 students will be accepted in this minor.
Department
3mE Department Biomechanical Engineering
Contact
Prof. dr. Ian T. Young
Quantitative Imaging Group, Department of Imaging Science & Technology
TU Delft
T: 015-278-5390
E: i "dot" t "dot" young "at" tudelft "dot" nl