TU Delft
Year
NEDERLANDSENGLISH
Organization
Education Type
Education print this page print this page     
2012/2013 Technology, Policy and Management Master Complex Systems Engineering and Management
SPM4111
Introduction to Designing Multi-actor Systems
ECTS: 2
Module Manager
Name E-mail
Dr.ir. C. van Daalen    C.vanDaalen@tudelft.nl
Instructor
Name E-mail
Dr. P.W.G. Bots    P.W.G.Bots@tudelft.nl
Dr. F. Dechesne    F.Dechesne@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr.ir. P.M. Herder    P.M.Herder@tudelft.nl
Prof.mr.dr. E.F. ten Heuvelhof    E.F.tenHeuvelhof@tudelft.nl
Prof.dr.ir. M.F.W.H.A. Janssen    M.F.W.H.A.Janssen@tudelft.nl
Dr.ing. S.W. Knoll    S.W.Knoll@tudelft.nl
Dr.mr. N. Saanen    N.Saanen@tudelft.nl
Dr.ir. B.M. Steenhuisen    B.M.Steenhuisen@tudelft.nl
Dr. W.W. Veeneman    W.W.Veeneman@tudelft.nl
Dr. H.G. van der Voort    H.G.vanderVoort@tudelft.nl
Dr. M.E. Warnier    M.E.Warnier@tudelft.nl
Contact Hours / Week x/x/x/x
X/0/0/0
Education Period
1
Start Education
1
Exam Period
1
Course Language
English
Course Contents
This course is an intensive, one-week course, that requires students to fully engage in the entire programme. It acquaints the students with the MSc SEPAM learning objectives and it will make students sensitive for the kind of courses that will be offered in MSc SEPAM. The course focuses on designing in a multi-actor system.
Study Goals
After completion of the course, the student is able to:
a) Explain similarities and differences between systems analysis and systems engineering
b) Explain what multi-actor systems are and what design in a multi-actor system entails
c) Explain engineering systems concepts such as structure, process, and function, in relation to systems design and the system (design) life cycle
d) Explain what an institution is and what institutional design entails
e) Use a structured engineering design approach to design a subsystem within a multi-actor system
f) Apply basic techniques for conceptual design, especially identifying and formulating objectives, functions and requirements, generating alternatives and evaluating alternatives
g) Explain similarities and differences between technical and institutional design
h) Explain differences between a positivist and constructivist approach to designing in a multi-actor system
Education Method
Every day is a full day programme of lectures, workshops, project work, etc. at which attendance is required between 8:45 AM and 5:30 PM.
Assessment
SPM4111 will be assessed by an individual examination of the course materials on the Thursday immediately following the bootcamp week (75%). Project work done during the week accounts for 25% of the final score.
This is an integral part of the Q2 course spm4142 Multi-actor Systems Design: an Integrated View. Passing the spm4111 exam is required for entering the course on Multi-actor Systems Design: an Integrated View.
Module Material
1) C.L. Dym, P. Little, E.J. Orwin, R.E. Spjut (2009). Engineering Design: A Project Based Introduction, 3rd edition, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
2) Course slides published on Blackboard
3) Engineering Systems deck of cards